## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

**Executive Committee Resolution No. 163** 

Introduced by:

A. R. Unpingco
Edward J.B. Calvo
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
B. J.F. Cruz
Mike Cruz
Mark Forbes
L. F. Kasperbauer
R. Klitzkie
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
R. J. Respicio
Ray Tenorio
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating Gef Pa'go and Pa'a Taotao Tano' on the Fiestan Inalahan Kantan Minagof Songfest on May 5, 6, and 7, 2006.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I

- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 **WHEREAS,** Gef Pa'go and Pa'a Taotao Tano' are sister organizations
- 4 dedicated to the preservation, showcasing and teaching of Chamorro arts,
- 5 crafts, language and folkways; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Gef Pa'go and Pa'a Taotao Tano' have partnered in
- 7 sponsoring festivals that promote *Chamorro* culture for the past four (4) years;
- 8 and

- 1 **WHEREAS**, *Gef Pa'go* is a *Chamorro* cultural center that serves southern
- 2 Guam, while Pa'a Taotao Tano' provides cultural performances and events in
- 3 Tumon, next to the Guam Reef Hotel, in an area convenient and accessible to
- 4 Guam's visitors; and
- 5 WHEREAS, these two (2) organizations are the only cultural
- 6 organizations that educate and enrich Guam's people and provide enjoyment
- 7 to our visitors; and
- 8 WHEREAS, surveys show that our visitors want to experience Guam's
- 9 culture and interact with Guam's friendly people; and
- 10 WHEREAS, these two (2) organizations share resources in order to
- 11 provide venues for our youth to share their skills in *Chamorro* song and dance;
- 12 now, therefore, be it
- 13 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na
- 14 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 15 people of Guam, commend and congratulate Gef Pa'go Board Chairman,
- 16 Cathy S.N. Flores; Vice Chairman, Jimmy B. Mantanona; Treasurer, Bill M.
- 17 Paulino; Secretary, Eileen P. Flores; member, Joey M. Paulino and Mayor
- 18 Franklin M. Taitague; Executive Director, Dr. Judy Flores and Staff; and Pa'a
- 19 Taotao Tano' Board Chairman. Senator Benjamin J.F. Cruz; Vice Chairman,
- 20 Joshua Tenorio; Geri Gutierrez; Frances M. Sablan; and Antonia R.
- 21 Gumataotao; Executive Director, Linda Taitano Reyes and staff on their efforts
- 22 to preserve, perpetuate and showcase our *Chamorro* culture; and be it further
- 23 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 24 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 25 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Gef Pa'go

- 1 Board of Directors, management and staff; to the Pa'a Taotao Tano' Board of
- 2 Directors, management and staff; to the Honorable Franklin M. Taitague,
- 3 Mayor of Inarajan; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 4 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 4TH DAY OF MAY 2006.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

**Secretary of the Legislature**